EEV Educator of the Year


  • Lorna Pettifer, Education and Training Manager, CERES, is 2018 Victorian Environmental and Sustainability Educator of the Year
  • Karen Jones, Port Philip EcoCentre was awarded the EEV 2018 Excellence Award for her contribution to the sector.



  • Dr Colin Hocking, Curriculum & Academic Developer with the Education Development Unit, at La Trobe University, was awarded the 2016 Victorian Environmental and Sustainability Educator of the Year.
  • April Seymore, Executive Officer and Education Manager at the Port Phillip EcoCentre, was recognised with an Excellence Award for the non-formal sector.
  • Nicola Forrest, Deputy Principal at Cornish College in Bangholme, was recognised with an Excellence Award for the formal education sector.


  • Julie Wynne of St Louis de Montfort Primary School and Jane Burns of CERES, joint winners of the 2015 EEV Environmental and Sustainability Educator of the Year Award.
    Jeanette McMahon of Winters Flat Primary School (School sector Excellence) and Tom Reddington of AYCC (Community sector excellence).


  • Anthony Mangelsdorf (ResourceSmart Schools Coordinator for Barwon South West).
  • Kamila Krauze (teacher and sustainability coordinator at Glen Huntly Primary School)
  • Raquel Harris (sustainability officer at Wellington Shire Council) were also honoured with excellence awards.

2013 – Kirsty Costa (CERES Education and ResourceSmart AuSSI Vic Coordinator of Melbourne’s Southern Metropolitan Region)

2012 – Jason Kimberley (Cool Australia)

2011 – Andrew Vance (Melbourne Girls College)

2010 – Paul Dullard (Catholic Education Office) and  Dr Sue Lewis (National Centre for Sustainability @ Swinburne University of Technology)

2008  – Glenn Davidson (Planet Savers)

2007 – Frank Fisher (Swinburne University of Technology)

2005 – Werribee Zoo Education Team

2004 – Jim Grant (Gould League)


  • Paul Donaldson (Fairhills HS)
  • Steve Malcolm (Dept. Sustainabiltiy and the Environment)


  • Eric Bottomley (CERES)
  • Bob Winters (Gould League)

2001  – Frank Mitchell (Swinburne University of Technology)

2000  – Annette Gough (RMIT)

1999  – David Pace (Torquay Primary, Dept Ed)

1998  – Pat Armstrong (Gould League)

1997  – Greg Hunt (Melbourne Zoo)

1996  – Carole Guthrie (Department of Education)

1995 – Jim Wilson (Melbourne Zoo)

1994 – Kath Murdoch (University of Melbourne)

1993 – Sue Elliot (RMIT)

1992 – Vox Bandicoot

1991 – Peter Biro (Syndal Tech, Dept Ed)

1990 – Geoff Duke  (Rusden – now absorbed into Deakin)

1989 – Dallas Kinnear (Australian Conservation Foundation)


  • Randall Bouillete
  • Marion Van Gameron

1987 – John Laffin (Vic Schools Nursery, Catholic Ed Office placed teacher)

1985-6 – Alan Reid   (ACF and Gould League)